Poster Prizes

The ACA is proud to acknowledge outstanding poster presentations from students and young scientists who attend the annual meeting.  The ACA supports a number of individual poster prizes as well as partnering with crystallographic businesses to sponsor additional prizes.  

The Pauling Poster Prize was established by the ACA and is supported by member contributions, to honor Linus Pauling. Pauling was one of the pioneers in American structural research and was a very supportive member of the ACA for many years. At each annual meeting, not more than (7) best graduate or undergraduate poster presentations receive Pauling awards.

Each prize is in honor of:

Linus Pauling Poster Prize(s)

This poster prize recognizes the contributions of Linus Pauling. Up to three prizes awarded annually.

Herman R. Branson Pauling Poster Prize

This poster prize recognizes the contributions of Herman Russell Branson, one of the first African American physicists to make crystallography the focus of his research.

Muttaiya Sundaralingam Pauling Poster Prize

This poster prize recognizes the ground-breaking crystallographic research on the stereochemistry of nucleotides and nucleic acids done by Muttaiya Sundaralingam and his colleagues.

Louis Delbaere Pauling Poser Prize

This poster prize in honor of Louis Delbaere former ACA President from Canada, will be given to the highest ranked graduate or undergraduate poster from a Canadian laboratory.

IUCr Pauling Poster Prize

This poster prize is sponsored by the International Union of Crystallography, to be given to a graduate or undergraduate poster (no cash prize).


Sponsored Poster Prizes

Journal on Structural Dynamics Poster Prize

The prize of $250 is given for excellence in research on structural determination and dynamics of systems, enabled by the emerging new instruments (e.g. XFELs, electron sources, etc.) and new experimental and theoretical methodologies and is open to students (graduate and undergraduate) and post-docs.The ACA Journal on Structural Dynamics sponsors this prize. 


RCSB Protein Data Bank Poster Prize

This prize recognizes a student, graduate or undergraduate, poster presentation involving macromolecular crystallography. The award will be one educational book that will be mailed to the winner after the meeting. An announcement will appear on the RCSB PDB website and newsletter (more information can be found here). 


Journal of Chemical Crystallography Poster Prize

The best student, graduate or undergraduate, poster presentation in the area of chemical crystallography or small molecule structure determination and analysis is sponsored by Springer's Journal of Chemical Crystallography. The winner will receive their personal choice of books from Springer's extensive portfolio of titles. 


CrystEngComm Poster Prize

CrystEngComm (published by the Royal Society of Chemistry) is pleased to sponsor a prize to be awarded to the best student, graduate or undergraduate, poster presentation in the area of crystal engineering /supramolecular chemistry. The winner will receive an RSC book voucher and an announcement will be posted on the CrystEngComm website


MiTeGen-Society of Physics Students Undergraduate Poster Prize

This prize was established to encourage young undergraduate researchers in the field of crystallography and recognizes the best undergraduate poster presentation. The winner will receive a $250 cash prize sponsored by the Society of Physics Students and MiTegen, as well as a gift certificate for MiTeGen products. All undergraduate student posters will be automatically be eligible.