ACA Annual Meeting Award Winners

The ACA recognizes distinguished achievement in the field of crystallography to both mature and early career crystallographers through the presentation of various annual awards and prizes.  Read more about ACA awards and how you can submit a nomination.  

In 2023 we celebrate:

Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award: Kristin M. Hutchins (Texas Tech University)

To recognize outstanding achievement and exceptional potential in crystallographic research demonstrated by a scientist at an early stage of their independent career. The award is established to honor the memory of Professor Margaret C. Etter (1943-1992), who was a major contributor to the field of organic solid-state chemistry.

Read more about the Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award
Read More About Kristin...



David G. Rognlie Award: Majed Chergui (EPFL, Lausanne)

David (Dave) Rognlie was a dedicated and much loved member of the crystallographic community, interacting over many years with a large number of scientists through his activities as owner of Blake Industries. The award is intended to embody Dave’s values and personality: His generosity of spirit, optimism, selflessness and unstinting desire to help others to succeed in their endeavors. The award will be for any meritorious discovery or advance in structural science by someone at any stage of their career.

Read more about the David Rognlie Award
Read more about Majed



A.L. Patterson Award: Tamir Gonen (UCLA)

To recognize and encourage outstanding research in the structure of matter by diffraction methods, including significant contributions to the methodology of structure determination and/or innovative application of diffraction methods and/or elucidation of biological, chemical, geological or physical phenomena using new structural information.

Read more about the A.L. Patterson Award
Read more about Tamir

Elizabeth A. Wood Science Writing Award: Juan Manuel García-Ruiz (CSIC-University of Granada)

The award is named in honor of Elizabeth A. Wood, President of the ACA in 1957, and author of science books for lay readers. Persons who have writ- ten books or articles that bring science to the attention of a wider audience are eligible.

Read more about the Elizabeth A. Wood Science Writing Award
Read more about Juan Manuel